Skip to content

..::The Single That Changed Everything◊Diamond/Over the clouds::..

February 6, 2010
tags:

Alan. . . Has someone ever heard of this name before? I believe many already does, considering the fact it’s almost three years since she first made her debut in this J-pop industry under Avex. Uniquely, japanese blood does not flow in her vein, instead she’s a Chinese Tibetien. Despite the fact, she could sing Japanese very well and beautifully (with the Chinese taste in her voice), thus I believe, help in producing already 12 singles in almost three years! And Diamond/Over the clouds in her latest, 12th single.

I prefer the cover featured her black dress from the pv

What makes me just wanna write about this single is because of it’s difference from the last thing I’ve ever heard of alan. Let me take you back into the past…

I first knew about alan around 2008, around the time when she released Natsukashii Mirai ~longing future~ For me, that song was really great and different from what I’ve heard so far by that time. Her voice is exceptionally different from other J-pop singer (yes, because she’s not one of them) and that song is more peaceful-like than the others I had by that time. Plus, she’s kinda attractive looking too, no? hehe~ So yeah, she become my center of attraction for quite awhile, but later, somehow I missed lots of singles from her (to be honest, I didn’t even know how much singles she already has before writing this) but I have some like Megumi no Ame and Gunjou no Tame. Unfortunately, I realized that the singles I’ve listened so far weren’t really varied, so I decided to ‘dumped’ her (beside her good looking face~) and left her forgotten by earlier last year.

So just around a year later, which was just some hours ago, I found out she had released her 12th single, Diamond/Over the clouds. Recollecting my memories ‘with her’, I decided to give the single a chance, and what I found was beyond my expectation, seriously. The songs are more upbeat from what I’ve last year, her voice has become more solid, her ‘unique, Chinese taste’ voice is sounding better and gosh, she’s that damn cute! So okay, I haven’t watched any of her pvs before, nope. This is my first, and it’s not disappointing at all.

Diamond is probably my favourite among the two, simply because of it’s nice, mysterious like opening which fits perfectly with the pvs opening scene where alan seems to be lost in darkness, looking scared and helpless. Then a light appeared, guiding her to a ‘forest’ of lights. Although the pv looks kinda simple, but it’s magnificent, and alan’s dress is great too. The chorus is so different from the alan I knew before, more energetic, this such a great single after what I’ve thought about her before this.

Over the clouds make things better with it’s techno opening and more upbeat song. It has this feeling like the old, village-girl alan who loves to sing slow songs suddenly migrated into a big city full of new trends and fun. I wonder if someday we could see this girl wearing something like Ai-chan did in 3,2,1 Breakin’ Out! pv. Really cool attires~

This single definitely makes me wanna start something new with alan. Please note that by the time I’m writing this, I still haven’t listened to the singles that I’d missed before, so I think that will be my first step. Then, who knows what will happen next, just hope her 13th single won’t be disappointing me once again~

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 9:08 am

    Very very nice review, and good title! I added you to my blogroll! :)

  2. February 25, 2010 6:55 pm

    Why thank you. :) It seriously makes me happy that new people are noticing my blog day by day.

    Unfortunately, I haven’t been writing in here for quite a while. So everyone, please don’t expect much in the near future~

    Sorry, but I guess diamond did changed everything in me. . .

  3. February 7, 2013 5:30 am

    In 2007, she continued to enjoy great success in her career, landing the role of Konata Izumi in the anime version of Lucky Star and launching three separate singles back-to-back monthly at year’s end.

Leave a Reply

