Skip to content

..::SEED #00::..

July 18, 2008

I’ve been thinking about starting this series of posts by the end of this year coz by that time, my SPM examination will be over, and I’ll have lots and lots of free time to blog. However, looking at the current state of my blog, July will be the most boring month of all if I don’t have something reallly interesting to write about up until now. So, I have decided to start writing bit by bit on this series.

“SEriEs of Dawn” (SEED) is a series of posts of Morning Musume’s previous 36 singles (excluding Resonant Blue, coz I had written about it before). I’ll be writing about those singles from my point of view, of course. Therefore, I’m sorry if someone doesn’t agrees with my thoughts. Morning Musume had made quite a long journey since their first single to become what they are today; a group consisting only nine members. Before arriving this point, lots of graduations and ‘crisis’ had happened. I really hope this number will remain and no more stupid graduations will be held.

Lets move on to our first episode, featuring Ai no Tane. Maybe some of us will not agree Ai no Tane being treated as the first single here, for it was just a demo single, to test the ability of the girls before diving deeper into the industry. Fortunately, Ai no Tane was an excellent seed and finally blossomed into a beautiful flower. So, I think we should have it as the pioneer single from the musumes.

This single consist of the miraculous Abe Natsumi, Fukuda Asuka, Iida Kaori, Ishiguro Aya and Nakazawa Yuko. Personally, I don’t think Ai no Tane is a great single. Well, its good for a beginner, but the rhythm of the song is somehow plain, and looking at the PV, the girls doesn’t smile much. Maybe they were nervous. Then, the scenery was kinda boring too. There were just too much blue (the skies) and green (the grasses). Next there were scenes around the flowers, which were quite annoying. I don’t really like this kind of singing-among-the-flowers shots. One thing that really disappointed me was the fact that there was no dancing at all! The girls only having fun passing balls, running around, and then back to standing still with those expressionless face.

As for the vocals, I can’t deny it, they were truly great. Still, I noticed that Natsumi somehow have more lines than the others. Although I didn’t adore the others like I did to Natsumi (and Kaori), I still think it’s unfair for not having a fair distribution of lines. Why do Tsunku often focused on a specific member when distributing lines for a group? This happens always, right???

No comments yet

Leave a comment